Paris Favourites: Passages

Two weeks ago we spent a rainy weekend exploring some of the passages in the Grands Boulevards area of the city. I find that Grands Boulevards can be a bit overwhelming with loads of touristy shops and restaurants, but once you enter into the passages the crowds fall away and you’re in a different world. I think that they’re a great bit of ‘hidden Paris’ and I love the antique storefronts and intricate designs. 

Il y a deux semaines, nous avons passé un week-end pluvieux par explorer cdes passages dans la quartier de Grand Boulevards. Je trouve que Grands Boulevards est parfois un peu “trop” avec toutes ses magasins et restaurants touristiques, mais quand vous entrez dans les passages, c’est comme vous êtes dans un monde différent. Je pense qu’ils sont un peu insolite et j’adore les magasins anciens et les designs complexes.

Galerie Vivienne (my favourite).

Galerie Vivienne (mon préféré)


This passage always gives me a bit of a Harry Potter vibe… seems like a place you would go to buy your spellbooks.

Pour moi, ce passage à l’air un peu Harry Potter… je peux croire que c’est un magasin des grimoires


I can’t remember the name of this passage (it’s either Passage des Panoramas or Passage Jouffroy) but it can be found between metro stops Grands Boulevards and Richelieu Drouot. There are two, one on each side of the street and both are really lovely.  Passage Joufrroy leads up to rue Faubourg Montmartre and Passage des Panoramas will lead you to rue Saint Marc, close to Bourse metro. 

Je ne rappelle pas le nom de ce passage (soit Passage des Panoramas soit Passage Jouffroy), mais on peut le trouver entre les stations de métro Grands Boulevards et Richelieu Drouot. Il y a deux passages, un de chaque côté de la rue et les deux sont vraiment charmants. Passage Joufrroy vous amènera à la rue Faubourg Montmartre et Passage des Panoramas vous amènera à la rue Saint Marc, à proximité du métro Bourse.


I really enjoyed this little walk through the passages and galeries, and I think it’s a great activity for a chill afternoon! What are your favourite things to do on a quiet weekend?

J’ai vraiment apprécié cette petite promenade dans les passages et les galeries, et je pense que c’est une excellente activité pour un après-midi détendu! Quelles sont vos activités préférées à faire lors d’un week-end tranquille?

One comment on “Paris Favourites: Passages

Leave a Reply

