Paris Favourites: Holybelly

One of the things that I heard most often from other international students and expats when I first moved to Paris were complaints about the coffee here. However, I think the tide has turned and now there are lots of cool and unique cafés serving great coffee and food. Yes, you can still get gross instant coffee from the weird dispenser machines (these were all around my university and I just couldn’t get my head around it) but why do that when going to Holybelly is an option?

Holybelly is at the top of many “best of Paris” lists, and for good reason: it’s by far my favourite breakfast/lunch/coffee place. Their motto is “it’s good because we care” and the care they take with their restaurant is obvious, from the seasonally changing menu to the decor. The owners worked for years in Australia and the laid back Aussie vibe (and serious approach to great coffee) is clear as soon as you walk in. I follow them on Instagram and was thrilled to see that they’re opening a second location (right beside the first one) as the long lines were my only complaint about the Holybelly experience. I guess it’s unavoidable when the food is that good!


There are lots of options and their menu changes regularly, I often get the classic breakfast stack, but have tried other seasonal dishes that were amazing too. Who doesn’t love pancakes and bacon?

My only wish is that Holybelly was closer to where I live in the west of Paris. Maybe Holybelly 3 will open up on my side of town? Fingers crossed. Until then, I’ll be making the 45-minute trek over to the 10th arrondissement. 


What are your favourite restaurants and cafés in Paris? Comment and let me know, I’m always on the lookout for a new place to check out!

Getting there: 19 rue Lucien Sampaix, 75010. Metro Jacques Bonsergent (line 5) and République (lines 3,5,8,911) 

Check out their website here to see the menu and other info.

Leave a Reply

