Jardins – Grand Palais

Hi! I’m melting in this heatwave but have enjoyed lots of outdoors time this weekend. We went to pick vegetables at a farm outside of Paris (Les Fermes de Gally) and otherwise I’ve just been taking care of a few necessary but boring things like cleaning out my closet and buying groceries. 

Two weeks ago I went to see the Jardins exhibit at the Grand Palais. I was last there a year ago to see the Louis Vuitton exhibit, and I think it’s a lovely exhibition space. I’ve also always wanted to go skating there in the winter, but somehow have never gone.

Salut! Ca se passe bien cette canicule? J’ai passé beaucoup de temps en plein air ce week-end (et j’ai un coup de soleil comme preuve). Nous sommes allés cueillir des légumes à une ferme un peu dehors de Paris (Les Fermes de Gally) et, autrement, j’ai fait quelques choses ennuyant mais nécessaires, comme ranger ma placard. 

Il y a deux semaines, je suis allé voir l’exposition Jardins au Grand Palais. La dernière fois que j’étais la, cetait pour voir l’exposition de Louis Vuitton, et je pense que c’est un très beau musée. J’ai toujours voulu y aller pour faire du patinage en hiver, peut-être que je vais y aller l’hiver prochain.


It was a lovely sunny day, the perfect weather to be thinking about gardens. I might be crazy but I actually waited until it was nice out to go see this exhibition.

C’était une belle journée ensoleillée, le temps idéal pour penser aux jardins. Peut-être je suis folle, mais j’ai attendu jusqu’à il fait beau pour voir cette exposition.


Seed art!

Cloud Study by John Constable. His paintings were some of my favourites when I studied art in high school, and not much has changed because I could look at these for hours. 

Cloud Study de John Constable. Ses peintures ont été mes préférées quand j’ai étudié l’art au lycée, et rien n’a changé parce que je pouvais les regarder pendant des heures.

There were also lots of lovely plans of famous gardens, and amazing landscape paintings. I think my favourite part were some models that were used in the 18th century to learn about botany, made out of glass.  They looked amazingly real and I wouldn’t have believed they were made of glass if it wasn’t marked on the sign beside them. 

It’s a lovely exposition, and it’s on until July 24th. Definitely a nice way to spend an afternoon!

Il y avait aussi beaucoup de beaux cartes de jardins célèbres et de peintures de paysage étonnantes. Je pense que ma partie préférée étaient des modèles des fleurs qui ont été utilisés au 18ème, faite de verre. Ils ont l’air étonnamment réel et je n’aurais pas cru qu’ils étaient faits de verre si ce n’était pas marqué sur le panneau à côté d’eux.

C’est une belle exposition, jusqu’à 24 juillet. C’est l’activité parfaite pour un week-end tranquille! 

Getting there: Metro Franklin Roosevelt (lines 1 and 9) or Champs Élysées Clemenceau (lines 1 and 13)

Leave a Reply

