Musée des Arts et Métiers 

After living in Paris as an intern on a tiny budget last year, I’ve become an expert on the subject of all things free in this city. One of my favourite ways to spend the first Sunday of the month is going to one of the museums that offer free admission on every “premier Dimanche de chaque mois.’ Many museums participate in this deal and you can find the full list here. My only warning is that sometimes everyone has the same great idea of going to the museum for free and you will end up waiting in a much longer line than you usually would. This didn’t happen to us this time but has happened to me in the past. 

At the beginning of November, I took my boyfriend to the Musée des Arts et Métiers. I had never been before and thought it might be a good choice for us as he studied engineering and isn’t as interested in art museums as I am. It was! There were lots of exhibits that were interesting to both of us. I really liked the old scientific instruments and he loved the exhibits showing how buildings were built hundreds of years ago. The planes were really interesting too, and really showed how quickly technology has developed over the past century. 

This museum was huge, much larger than I had expected and it took us about 2 and a half hours to walk through (and by the end we were rushing because we were hungry). I didn’t take many photos that day, but here’s one to give you a bit of an idea of what the museum is like: 

An early attempt at an airplane – really interesting to look at but I don’t think I’d want to fly in it…

I’d recommend this museum to anyone, even though I’m not very into technology and have no idea about how machines work I was still very interested by the displays. I think it would be great to take kids to as there are many interactive displays (my boyfriend loved these too, lol). 

This weekend is the first Sunday of the month so museums will be free again, let me know if you go to one!

Leave a Reply

