My New Home

So it’s Thursday, I’m all settled in at my new apartment (not really an apartment, more of a room but let’s just glorify it and call it an apartment).  This week was mostly filled with the usual mundane tasks that pop up when you’re in a new house – buying a throw blanket, mugs, and maybe some artwork so i’m not living in an entirely empty room.

I’m living now at Cite Universitaire, in the 14th arrondissement of Paris.  It’s a big campus covered in grand old buildings, and when you walk in you’re greeted by this view.

IMG_3390

That being said, my room is far from fancy, there are building *rules*, and I share a shower and bathrooms with an entire floor of people. For someone who never dreamed of living the dorm life again, it’s been a bit of a shock. But as a master’s student, Paris real estate prices were even more shocking and considering my rent is about half of what everyone I know is paying, so far I’ve been able to suck it up and look on the bright side (more money for clothes! more money for going out! more travel money!)  Also there’s a cafeteria where you can get an absolutely huge meal for a little over 3 euro if you have a student card…  if anyone is visiting Paris and looking for a really cheap meal i’d recommend it! This post makes me laugh because I am absolutely awful at budgeting (I took an uber home from drinks with the girls last night instead of the metro… oops…) but it looks like I may have inadvertently saved some money and found an interesting place to live for a few months as well!

Leave a Reply

