Cafés and Shopping

Today has been a really long day of classes and homework (quantitative analysis at 8 AM is inhumane), so I thought it might be nice to post some pictures from when I was more relaxed last week.

I took the subway one night last week to the street of “Grands magasins”, the French department stores near Saint-Lazare.  This might just be me being shallow and a bit of a shopaholic, but I always find nice department stores to be really relaxing.  Everything is nicely displayed and perfect.  In Toronto, I spent too much time in Holt Renfrew, and it looks like I’ve found the Parisian equivalent here in Printemps and Galeries Lafayette.

Luckily, I stumbled upon the rooftop cafe which I think has one of the best views in Paris.  For the price of a cup of coffee (or a bottle of wine, they sell that too) you can hang out on the roof and admire the city for as long as you like.  There was a mixture of tourists and locals sitting out on the roof enjoying the sunset and the view of the skyline…

01a050aa4597effd4bc83dc835a89007da3deab3e6

You can wander all around the roof, getting a nice 360 degree view of the city.

012c4da3ddd70b07c8179b82bd815242eb93b5a6f0

Beautiful streets and rooftops, nice to see as the arrondissement I am staying in is not quite as picturesque.

0110baf1d887c337ce659e1e00180a826178c46113

0145275348c78fe87024494a339fb24462f5156b60

I ended the day off with a wander through the stores… Fell in love walking past some of the designer boutiques and I’m pretty eager for when I can afford to actually shop, and not just stare.  Also realized that a lot of French toddlers have nicer clothes than I do…

0179e9cc3143bbd40b3eefe3d26dfccd43ea3591ba

I’ve heard a lot of people complain about shopping in France (prices, crowds, service etc..) but as a fashion lover and a business student this was really an ideal visit for me!

Leave a Reply

