Weekend in the Sun

Last weekend the weather was absolutely beautiful in Paris… sadly that’s not the case as I write this after a few days of cold and wind.  In a moment of bravery (stupidity?) I left my winter jackets at home, thinking that French weather wouldn’t seem that cold to a Canadian.  Obviously, I forgot that I’m a huge wimp and loathe cold weather, so I’m going to have to add buying a winter coat onto my to-do list.

But anyways, last week was beautiful and sunny and was the perfect time to visit the Tuileries and the Musée de l’Orangerie.  It was a quick metro trip and gave me a chance to explore one of the nicest areas of Paris.  Everyone else was out enjoying the sunshine too and there were some really good painters out in the park.

018d512ffaab0709ab622e6499d0af43042418847d

The Musée de l’Orangerie is home to a bunch of Impressionist paintings, most famously the Water Lilies paintings by Monet.  Some stern French guards were preventing any pictures from being taken, I guess you’ll have to take my word for it when I say it was amazing.  They were shown in two egg-shaped rooms and the canvases stretched around the walls so you feel like you’re surrounded by the scene.  I’ve always loved Impressionism and the paintings definitely lived up to expectations.

Downstairs there were other exhibitions, really interesting and well-displayed.  There was a big Emile Bernard display on showing all of his paintings throughout his career. Maybe I’m uncultured or it’s just been too many years since art class but I didn’t know much about him, so it was something new for me.

012e9f68a46ce99f77551cad8ac8ecb9f3b85b798b

I think sneaking this picture of a bowl of peaches foreshadowed the new misspelling of my name that I’ve been getting in France…

015fdce5f0513577d7f2d6c30697de55a1c1952371

Just call me Peach from now on!

The museum was fairly small and didn’t take much more than an hour for me to get through, so I used the rest of the afternoon for really really important work… sitting in the sunshine eating gelato.

I left the park full of hazelnut gelato and slightly more tanned, which is really all anyone can really ask for on a Sunday afternoon!

019be30046fc3821ed46dfdc4cc46f12dd84f8ed40

01c97dcb9806785b8351c8f73f661aa9b533b86e96

Leave a Reply

